Soulnova – Conocimiento Colectivo

Home » Fiction » Mass Effect 3 Extended Cut… yay!? (spoilers, maybe)

Mass Effect 3 Extended Cut… yay!? (spoilers, maybe)

Hello! Thanks for passing by! I talk about subjects like space, games, RPG's, anime, triops and Mexico!

Please take some time to check the banners on the right to help those in need and Follow me in Google .

Donate Button with Credit Cards



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 389 other followers

CATEGORIAS

ARCHIVO

Twitter Updates

ONE WEEK.

We will get it on one week.

I could barely believe the news today. I’m surprised they managed to get things going so fast. In one hand I’m really happy we will get some sort of “explanation” but really, what can we expect of these cinematics?

When I finished playing Mass Effect 2, I knew Bioware was up to a behemoth of an ending. The stakes were high and the only other two franchises I would dare to compare the hype were Metal Gear Solid and Halo. Why?

Metal Gear Solid 4

Metal Gear Solid 4

Simply put, the ending of MGS was a master piece. We actually got a PS3 so we could play MGS. Many people complain that the game felt too cinematic, but that’s what I loved of MGS, the story… and that last half an hour of pain, tears and revelations was what I consider the best ending for a character of this generation because Solid Snake’s journey came to an end. We will still get plenty of Big Boss, but that’s truly another story from another time.

Halo 3

Halo 3

Halo, on the other hand, had what I would consider the biggest hype I ever seen. The game was good and the ending reached the expectations. At least from my point of view after reading Fall of Reach, The Flood, First Strike, Ghost of Onyx… it was good. Someday, somewhere, the Chief would wake when they needed him. It’s funny because the last lines from Halo 2 and Halo 3, “Finishing the fight” and “Wake me when you need me” felt just… right.

And now… will the Extended Cut make it feel “right” too? I sincerely don’t know but I hope that it will be enough to answer the bigger questions.

So far, I have seen some screens of the whole crew standing on the memorial AND another of Joker getting orders to disengage. Besides that point, I believe the most important thing is this: “(will) include deeper insight to Commander Shepard’s journey based on player choices during the war against the Reapers. (…)It gives a sense of what the future holds as a result of the decisions made throughout the series. And it shows greater detail in the successes or failures based on how players achieved their endings.” Maybe they will show it like a text explanation as in DAO? I’m fine with that as long as I get to know what happens AFTER the big battle.

Right now, we only have to wait.

Leave a Reply

