Soulnova – Conocimiento Colectivo

Home » Other Stuff » Beyond a Farewell

Beyond a Farewell

Hello! Thanks for passing by! I talk about subjects like space, games, RPG's, anime, triops and Mexico!

Please take some time to check the banners on the right to help those in need and Follow me in Google .

Donate Button with Credit Cards



Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 389 other followers

CATEGORIAS

ARCHIVO

Twitter Updates

I wanted to share this small experience I had about a month ago.

I was dreaming I was in my grandmother’s house with all my relatives, like the gatherings we used to do when I was a kid. All my cousins and uncles were present and I was looking for my grandmother who had been in delicate health.

I looked into the open door of her bedroom but her bed was empty.  I frowned, “where is she?”, I thought. “She can’t really go anywhere else. Were is she supposed to be?”, she had been technically bedridden for the last month. I turned around and… there she was. Sitting on her usual spot at the dinner table with a knowing smirk on her face, just looking at all of use gathered there at the house.

I stared. I felt this was something important. This had significance, more than simply “Oh look, she got better”, but something I couldn’t quite put my finger on at that moment.

Then I woke up. I open my eyes quite aware, without that usual sleepy haze of the early mornings. On the following seconds, my cellphone alarm went off. I stretched myself to pick the phone and dismiss the alarm. As soon as I was going to place it back on the bedside cabinet, the phone rang.

It was my mother. My mouth made a thin line as the realization struck me.

I knew what she was going to say. I answered.

“Yes? Mom?”

There was a small pause on the other side, just confirming what I thought.

“… My love. You granny just passed away”

-I know- I closed my eyes and silently nodded to myself.

That day I took a plane to another state for her funeral and all the family gathered on her house just as I had dreamed that day. It was an eerie experience to say the least. Was it her way of saying goodbye? I would like to believe so.

by Gaby Lopez

Leave a Reply

